top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBigLoveLittleLove

Destination Double Cove

Updated: Feb 22, 2019


For our next adventure, I picked Corfu, Greece. We loved our last Greek holiday, I found a really reasonable flight and accommodation in Corfu. I was so excited to be going where I could relax from the big smoke, the 11 days were to be spent by the sea, exploring the island. I could just about hear the sea lap against the shore as I booked it.


I booked flights through Easy Jet coming out at a reasonable £50 per person. The apartment I found was in the quiet northern part of the island, Agios Georgios. I checked out AirBNB I found a great basic apartment for us. Spyridon and his family were just great, so great that if you are unsure where to stay, go there and they will take care of you. We stayed in Vistonia Studio 8. https://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/12324466?guests=1&adults=1


I also decided to rent a car, I booked from the UK as they are often cheaper this way. I was pleased I did because what we love to do is play on the beach but also get about. We arrived surprisingly in the rain but not one to little a bit of a splash get in the way, we made our way to our apartment. It took me forever and that was with google maps, it is rather hilly with some roads of the track very basic. I'd rather go slow and steady in case I crash. Upon our arrival I met Spyridon, he was such a lovely person that through my tiredness and in ability to speak. He sorted us all out in the room, as it was raining and early April, our room was cold. There was no heating, I was concerned but he wasn't and promptly produced as fan heater for us. The rain soon stopped, the sun came out and we were greeted by all the photos I saw on the internet. I just could not stop staring, I love the sea and it's call is a childhood memory. We had made it to destination relaxation


Yes, I know, how annoying but I promise that was the only run I did because it was way too hot.


What I really loved about my absorption of Corfu was that around some turns, in the car or walking, I felt like I had been transported back into Ancient Greece. The tall fern trees, dusty roads or paths and the sea view made it totally plausible. As we had an apartment I more often than not bought fresh food from the local shop or from a larger supermarket. I certainly developed an unhealthy obsession with chicken souvlaki so much so that I found a herb and spice rub I could taken home. Joy!


Palaiokastritsa

We meandered down the north west roads to this beautiful area, the land is not flat as you come to the beach and feels like it has been chiseled into the land around it. It is a pebbled beach some have very fine pebbles, we walked in flip flops along the shore line. There is a car park towards the beach, lots of little shops selling your normal beach souvenirs. Along this stretch there are little pockets of beach as well as the main beach areas. I personally found the food on the pricy side and opted to have lunch in one of the small villages we passed by. There are a few things that you can do here apart from playing on the beach which we didn't go and see but you may find these interesting. Monastery of Paleokastritsa, Corfu Aquarium and Flaggenmast which is a picturesque vantage point.


Achilleion, Gastouri

Achilleion or commonly known as Sisi's Palace locally is a beautiful palace made for Empress of Austria, Elisabeth of Bavaria (Sisi). She was known locally as a kind, gentle person completly in love with Greek Mythology. This palace is so worth while to visit, I loved to learn about this wonderful place and Sisi and decided to rent the audio tour of the place. One of the main features is the statue is of the dying Achilles as well as the eight meter tall victorious Achilles made of brass. The tip of his spear was said to be made of gold, passing ships could see this glinting in the sun.



Old Town

The old town was just lovely, we would park up and take a few different walks each time we went there. The main feature is the old fortress, it towers above the crystal water, it houses the public library but has seen it's fair share of historical events Ottoman sieges and Nazi occupation. Theres a play ground between the municipal art gallery and the old fortress.

There are lots of shops, cafe's, restaurants and bars. The Liston is between the Old Fortress and the shops separated by the park, it has lovely restaurants and cafe's where you can chill out in the sun.


We witnessed one of the Easter parades that everyone gets involved with. Each town walks along the streets, sections of girl guides and scouts, ex military, school children all out in the hot sun. Ice cream a plenty was had after this precession.


Papagiorgis Patiserie-Gelateria Nikiforou Theotoki 32, Kerkira 491 00, Greece

We recommend the Chocolate Orange ice cream, two scoops.


En Plo Cafe Restaurant Gate of St. Nikolaos, Corfu Town 49100, Greece

They gave us a fabulous local and fresh lunch, we recommend the greek salad and garlic prawns.



Our lunch time view


Pelekas - Kaiser's Throne

It’s not a typical holiday destination but nor am I so off we went to experience the 360° view over the island. It was spectacular even driving up the 270 meter hill as it wound around and then zig zagged through the village/town. I remember looking out of the window and understanding the unspoken knowledge of what a place of beauty an calm has upon a human soul. We parked the car at the top, being that we were pre-tourist season driving and parking was really easy. Theres a restaurant at the top which looked over the sea, it looked so beautiful but closed at this time. We took a walk up to the vantage point, it felt I was walking where they filmed Jason and the Argonauts and a skeleton was about to burst out of the path. We had our lunch within the town on the side of the road, chicken souvlaki and rice, it was just prefect. It was also 3EUR less than if I had it beside the beach with the knowledge it was cooked by one of the local in their own town. Why Kaiser's Throne? It was named this when Kaiser Wilhelm II spent his summers at Achillion Palace. He had wanted to build the palace upon this hill but it wasn't possible.


Agios Stefanos & Peroulades

This was the other side of where we were staying, I wanted to explore towards the north of the Island starting here. Jumping out every now and again for a walk, ice cream or to collect shells or sticks along the quiet beach.


Thanks for reading.


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page