top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBigLoveLittleLove

Disneyland Paris



My first solo trip with my little love was in November 2008 to Disneyland Paris. I had never travelled alone, never with a pram and the masses of luggage, you need when travelling with a little person. Our trip was a pivotal moment that because I had forever thought I would not be capable. Looking back now, this was the opposite of where I am but that's how I felt. Since that time, you'll be happy to know, or already know. We have gone to many places seen and experienced some wonderful things that I truly believe have helped me feel confident and independent. All of this adding to my sons life experience. I'd love to say I've got this travelling lark sussed but you always learn something new especially when your child and you are constantly growing.


We stayed for three days, two nights and travelled by plane instead of the Eurostar. It was on this trip I learnt the importance of knowing where to be in the airport, I nearly missed the flight home. I decided to book this little break so that my son and I could just get away from the drama that was carrying on at home. I felt like I needed so time away and a bit of fun. I have always been a bit of a kid, now that I had one of my own it was so much fun to do fun things with him. I could have easily booked at a nearby hotel but then there was the trip in and out of the park. It would be an easy half an hour ride in on a bus, this would look more like an hour which would be fine if it was not November and I was not already rather tired and stressed. For the extra money saved and spent in time, to me I felt that it really wasn't that much of a saving to warrant booking off-site. I was happy to stay in the standard accommodation a 20-minute walk from the park. We stayed at the Hotel Santa Fe, you could walk into the park but they also offered a shuttle bus too which is what I opted for. It was a good job too because, after the first day, he had a temperature and getting back to our room and having an early night was needed. At this time, I was thankful for bringing a few supplies with us. One was the Calpol. Praise the lord, cause when you need it, you need it fast.


We got a two-day pass due to our flight times, this was more than enough time to scout out the two-year-old friendly things to do. Disneyland Paris was wonderful, there were some lovely rides he could go on. I loved watching his face while we went on "It's a small world" that tune will forever stick in my head. I think if I were to sing this to an adult, I'd quickly know if they had been on it and also laugh with them as this insanely annoying theme tune had re-surfaced.


As you walk into Disneyland, you walk out onto the main road towards Sleeping Beauty's castle, later in the evening, you can watch the wonderful light show which took my breath away. I love fireworks but at the time, they had introduced the light show up the castle, seeing peter pan flying around to the top was just amazing. As it was November, the Christmas season had started, this meant that every hour small foaming bubbles would float around the road accompanied by music. It imitated snow and was again another amazing touch to a magical Disney experience.


He was mesmerised by the dragon (La Taniere du Dragon) under Sleeping Beauty's castle as it comes out with glowing red eyes in true robotic fashion through the green lights and smoke. He was very upset to leave.


Laughed his head off after screaming in terror at me on the Dumbo the flying elephant ride. When he could steer our elephant up and down, he soon enjoyed it although, we didn't go up to much.


The carousel was a bit too noisy for him, we could have sat in one of the carriages they have instead of a horse but as I already traumatised him on Dumbo, I decided to give this one a miss.


Voyage with Pinocchio, when you wish upon a star ride was just very cute, this one had a bit of a long queue but was worth coming back to it later on.

In Frontier land, he was too small for thunder mountain but we did see the Thunder Mesa Riverboat Landing. There was not much for us to do but we did have some good photo opportunities. 


In Discovery land, there was Orbitron - Lift Off which took inspiration from Leonardo Di Vinci and combined it with a futuristic and childlike theme. Next to this was the Buzz Lightyear laser blast ride, I clearly would be a bad mummy if I didn't take him on this ride. We, pardon the pun, had a blast. It was the start of a much-loved tradition we both have of these laser games, the older he got, the more apparently I cheat. Obvious rubbish! Next door was an arcade with other amenities, we stopped in here for a bit because it really was very cold. There were some screens up at the time showing old cartoons, it was really lovely to see all the kids just chilling out with their popcorn.


Pirate lagoon did look really great, for the summer but what we went on was the Pirate ride, it's now called Pirates of the Caribbean. It was a great ride, the glowing rat's eyes were quite creepy though, he wasn't too happy about that.


We did just love walking down the streets and through the different lands, fantasy land was just amazing. Ok, maybe this was the little girl in me more so than him. It is just spectacularly created, to the point where you are able to get into some parts of the castle and see some scenes of the story as well as the little shop in there.


Both days, as you leave, there are plenty of shops to look about. They are lovely to see whats about, in some shops, there were some offers which never go unnoticed by me. Liberty arcade was full of little shops and places to get a hot drink. It also tells you about the Statue of Liberty, it's linked to France and historic pictures.


We eat cheaply as you can in Disneyland Paris, most of what's available can be more expensive than expected. You can have cheaper options but I do care about what I put in my body as well as this little boys body. We visited Annette's Diner once for a burger and chips in the Disney Village, there's so much there although, there were a lot of places booked up. I personally found this annoying, it required me to pre-book a restaurant and if you're anything like me, I don't plan more than a day in advance what I will be eating for dinner. There are lots of options so it didn't spoil my day. Our last dinner, we went to King Luwicks Castle, I like it in there. The Bavarian theme was really nice and homely although, we were a bit cranky from a full on day.


I took so many pictures on this holiday, you just have to, I have two wonderful pictures at the bottom of my stairs. These remind me that in difficult times you can find time to have fun and it serves as a reminder that I can do anything.


36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page